F&C10

Jan and the bunting

It took four days to get from Edinburgh to Glasgow for the start of the anniversary celebration, 10 years since the Forth and Clyde Canal was re-opened.

I had the company of Jan Fairley, who learned the ropes quickly, and was able to hold the bows of Jessica steady as we went up the locks, while I remained at the helm. Jan also cooked delicious and healthy meals for us both, and had brought some bunting in boaty colours that she had made for the occasion. It rained a lot, so here she is with the bunting inside the cabin, drying it out so that it will look good on the first day of travel from Glasgow.

About The Skipper

I use my narrowboat to offer a place for rest and refreshment, conversation and encounter. I am a Franciscan Tertiary (Anglaican) and a spiritual director. I have been married to Michael for over 45 years. We have two grown up sons and grandchildren of all ages.
This entry was posted in anniversary, events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment